Grade 5 – Discovering Beethoven and His Works (Part 1)

I wish I could hear Beethoven for the very first time again.

cherylynmusic

This week I’m breaking off a little from routine to teach my students about a classical composer that they should know. I started off showing them a video that explains briefly about the life of Beethoven. As we go along watching the video, I prompt the students about what the narrator said in the video. They were really attentive as they could answer my questions. I also had a short discussion about Beethoven as a person. I told them that knowing these information will be useful perform the activities that I have prepared for them.

After showing the video, I taught them to sing Ode to Joy with very interesting lyrics in it. https://www.pianopronto.com/blog/free-piano-sheet-music-ode-to-joy-lyrics-level1/

I liked the lyrics that was created with this famous Symphony No.9. Usually people only can sing the song by humming or using nonsense syllables (like ‘la’) to present the song but this lyric arrangement really…

View original post 557 more words

Leave a Reply

